Hannibal Errata

Hannibal: Rome versus Carthage

Errata and Clarifications

January 17, 1997

5 (revised clarification) When in the sequence of play does the Carthaginian player declare who he desires to have the first move?

A. The Carthaginian player first asks the Roman player if he is using a Campaign card to move first. If not, then the Carthaginian player declares who will move first.

5. Can reinforcement CUs be placed with a returning displaced General?

A. All Carthaginian reinforcements must be placed in eligible locations prior to placing returning displaced Generals in eligible locations.

6.2 and 6.3 When Rome is besieged and all Roman Generals are inside Rome, where do the Romans receive reinforcements?

A. No reinforcements are allowed other than those arriving with Scipio Africanus.

6.3 Can a reinforcement be placed inside a city that is not besieged but has an enemy occupying the space? If the city is filled to capacity with friendly CUs and no other eligible location exists, is the reinforcement lost?

A. Yes. Yes.

6.4 When in the Reinforcement Phase must Scipio Africanus be placed?

A. During subphase 3, at the same time as other Roman reinforcements are placed and prior to the designation of proconsul and placement of new consuls.

6.4 If all friendly ports in Italy and Spain contain enemy CUs, what happens to the arrival of Scipio Africanus and his five CUs?

A. They must be placed in Italy in a space with a friendly PC with no enemy CUs. If no such place exists, then he arrives inside Rome if unbesieged, up to the 5 CU limit. Otherwise, he does not enter the game.

6.4 Must the Roman designate a Proconsul?

A. Yes.

ERRATA for 7.2 Treachery in the City is a dual use card as well (may be used both to move the army and implement its event).

7.4 Must "counter events" always be played as counters or can they be played as regular operations?

A. If the conditions listed on the card are fulfilled, then the card may be played as a regular operation. For example, the hostile tribe cards (#7 and #8) refer to an army "occupying or entering" a specific kind of space and therefore may be used in either manner.

8.1 and 8.5 How is a subordinate commander activated to move off with part of an army that is under a superior?

A. Play an operations card with a number able to activate the moving (subordinate in this case) General. The General(s) left behind is (are) not activated.

8.2 Can ten CUs overrun two?

A. No.

8.5 May an activated commander yield command of an army to a subordinate who continues to move, siege or battle?

A. No, only the activated General may move the Army. However, if the activated General enters a space with a friendly General who outranks him and if a battle or siege takes place, the superior commander must take command of the siege or battle.

8.6 Must the activated General remain in command if ending its move with another General? If not, when is the change accomplished?

A. No, the activated General is allowed to subordinated himself to the inactive General of equal rank after all movement, sieges and battle are finished in effect, as the last act of the General.


Can CUs move using naval movement without a General? The "-1" modifier for naval shipment on the Naval Combat table implies you can "ferry" troops without a General.

A. No they may not. The mapboard was printed just before the rule and some strategy cards were changed to their official final form. The rest of the naval combat table is correct: a General may move without CUs with a "-1" drm.

ERRATA for 8.9

Alter line 3 to read: " . . . or if all friendly CUs accompanying the General are eliminated due to Retreat Table casualties, Retreat losses, or by Storm at Sea. The losses caused by the Battle Casualties die roll alone do not cause displacement." Amend the second bullet to read: "If Hannibal is Displaced, he is eliminated and Carthage removes 5 PCs in addition to any PC losses resulting from a battle that led to Hannibal's death."

ERRATA for 9

Additional Interception Restriction: You may not intercept into a space containing non-moving enemy CUs (and, for city spaces, if outside walled cities).

9 and 10 Can a General moving without CUs be intercepted? Can a General without CUs try to avoid battle?

A. Yes. No.

9 Does an interception army arrive before of after overruns?

A. Before. An intercepting army may prevent a friendly CU from being overrun.

9.1 Can a single army attempt to intercept every army moving against it with a campaign card?

A. Yes, an army may make multiple interception attempts during the play of a single strategy card.

9.1 Can two or more armies intercept the moving army in the same space?

A. Yes, all interception attempts are first announced before resolution. If during resolution, more than one army intercepts, then the armies are combined in the space under the command of one general and the combined force faces the moving army.

9.1 May an army with a General inside a walled city attempt to intercept?

A. Yes, but only if there is no enemy General or CU in the same city space.

9.3 Can an intercepted army that is crossing a mountain pass stop short instead of giving battle and thereby avoid an attrition die roll as well? What about a naval move by the Carthaginians?

A. No. An intercepted army has already arrived in a space and is choosing to retire before battle. Therefore, in the situation of crossing a pass and being intercepted, the army rolls for attrition prior to the interception roll and then again rolls for attrition as it withdraws back over the mountains instead of giving battle. Similarly, a Carthaginian naval move could return to its port of origin and would be subjected to two naval combat die rolls.

ERRATA for 10.1 (revised)

When avoiding battle, you may not enter a space containing an enemy CU.

10.1 Can an army on a walled city space roll to avoid battle and move inside the city?

A. Yes (thereby stopping the enemy move unless he successfully pursues), but you may automatically declare that you are inside the city instead (allowing the moving army to continue to move without a pursuit die roll).

10.3 If an army fails a pursuit die roll and ends its move on a walled city, may it conduct a siege?

A. Yes.

11 What is the sequence of battle resolution when elephants and consular armies are involved?

A. 1. Change of Command die roll.

2. Attacker declares battle-related cards.

3. Defender declares other battle-related cards.

4. Elephant charge declaration and charge die roll, unless elephant fright immediately played before die roll.

5. Deal BCs, display cards revealed by spy and begin battle.

Some event cards are playable during the battle.

11.6 After matching a Double Envelopment, must the defender become the attacker?

A. No, the initiative change is not mandatory.

11.6 May CUs without a General become the attacker after matching an enemy Double Envelopment?

A. Yes.

11.9 Do failed withdrawals count as a round for the purposes of battle casualties?

A. No, only the rounds of battle card play count for determining the column of the attrition table for the battle casualty die roll.

11.10 Is there any die roll modifier to the retreat table when the attacker loses by running out of cards? Do you use the modifier of the last matched card?

A. No, use the face value of the die on the retreat table.

11.11 Can the attacker attempt to withdraw as his very first battle action (prior to any BC play)?

A. Yes, and if successful, no battle casualty die roll would occur.

11.11 and 16.2 Can an army that successfully withdraws from a battle go inside a walled city?

A. Yes.

12 Can a General retreat with more than ten CUs?

A. Yes, a General may not move or avoid battle with more than ten CUs, but a General may command an unlimited number during battle, withdrawals and/or retreats.

ERRATA for 12.1

Retreats may not end in spaces with enemy CUs (with or without a General), but must continue to a friendly PC that is empty or friendly-occupied. Additionally, the original attacker's retreat path must first go to the space from which he entered the battle.

12.1 Do CUs swept up in a retreat count as part of the retreating force when determining whether the force can stop its retreat with a larger friendly force?

A. Yes, they do.

12.3 What happens if, as a result of battle, the loser is unable to remove enough PC markers to satisfy the Political Consequences of defeat?

A. The player must instantly sue for peace, thereby losing the game (see rule 18.2).

12.3 and 8.8 Do CUs lost at sea count towards Political Consequences?

A. No.

14.1 and 8.6 When wishing to change command of an army during the strategy phase, must the player activate the army by activating the commanding general?

A. No, you can either activate the commander who as his last act subordinates himself to the other General, or you activate the subordinate who then takes command of the Army. In either case, you must abide by rules of Rank.

14.2 Can a consular army with both consuls drop off CUs until it has just five CUs?

A. Yes, as long as it is not passing through a space containing a proconsular army that is bigger.

15.4 Does a besieged city count for preventing PC marker isolation?

A. Yes, a besieged city can still be used by its owner to trace supply to PCs to prevent isolation.

16.4 Can an army move into a walled city space, battle the enemy outside the city, and then roll on the siege table in the same play of a strategy card?

A. No, a battle outside the walls prevents you from conducting a siege with that OC. The unstated sequence of play should be: move, siege, battle. Any force outside the walls prevents the siege attempt until the next play of an OC.

16.4 After initiating the siege, on subsequent rounds of strategy card play, may the besieging army roll on the attrition table while the strategy card is used as an event or to move a different army elsewhere?

A. No, to get the chance to roll again on the siege table, a player must activate the general leading the besieging army (by devoting a OC to it) or activate a different general that then moves to the location of the siege and ends its move combined with the besieging army.

16.4 May an besieging army that has dropped below 3 CUs continue to make siege die rolls? If a besieging army's size drops below 3 CUs, is the siege broken and the siege points removed?

A. No. No.

16.4 If an army moves to reinforce a besieging army, must the reinforcing force have 3 CUs to conduct the siege?

A. No, the combined force must have 3 CUs.

16.4 Does the play of the Truce card affect an ongoing siege?

A. Until the Truce is ended, no battles or siege die rolls are allowed. However, existing siege points remain in place unchanged.

16.4 Can an army inside a besieged city sally forth and initiate battle in the space? If it can, does it receive battle card bonuses like normal?

A. Yes. Yes.

16.4, 8.6 and 8.7 If a Consular army is inside a besieged city and an army commanded by a proconsul comes to its relief while the consular army sorties to join the battle, which Roman General is in command?

A. The Consul. If the Consul does not sortie, then the Proconsul leads the battle. This logic also applies to Hannibal outranking an activated Carthaginian General coming to his relief.

16.4 If an active General moves by sea to relieve a besieged port and fights with the benefit of besieged CUs, but loses the battle (and is destroyed according to retreat rules), what happens to the besieged CUs that took part in the battle?

A. First resolve casualties normally, absorbing as many as possible from the active army. If the retreat table requires more losses, they come from the besieged CUs that took part. Then, eliminate the active army.

17.2 When rolling for attrition due to a hostile tribe, which column do you use?

A. There are two distinct kinds of attrition involving hostile tribes. The first circumstance involves the play of a Hostile Tribe card, in which the army is attacked by tribal forces and undergoes a roll on the Hostile Tribe column of the attrition table. The second circumstance involves winter attrition for being in a hostile tribe space, in which the army undergoes a winter attrition die roll using the column matching its army size.

ERRATA for 19. The game no longer ends as a result of Hannibal's death (see Errata for 8.9).


Ally Deserts: Must this be played prior to any BC play or can it be played during the battle?

A. It may be played during the battle to randomly draw any unseen card from the enemy (or select a visible card previously revealed by the Spy card but still unplayed).

Allied Auxiliaries, Elephant Reinforcements, etc.: May CUs from event cards be placed inside a besieged city?

A. No.

Allied Auxiliaries: Can CUs be placed in Rome, if there is no General in Italy?

A. No.

Q. Must consular armies first be reinforced if below five CUs?

A. No, consular armies need never be reinforced when below five CUs.

Bad Weather: Can this be played after attrition die rolls cause by movement after the second movement point? After naval combat rolls? After interception and avoid battle rolls?

A. No, the card must be played to cancel a move prior to any die roll that would be initiated by the movement beyond the second movement point. Once the die rolls have been allowed, the card may not be played.

Q. Can this card be used to cancel a move across a strait?

A. A move across a strait is treated like land movement-- the first two movement points cannot be cancelled.

Q. Does this card cancel both port to port moves that can be made with the "Forced March 3" card?

A. Yes.

Q. If it cancels a naval movement during the use of a campaign card, may a different general use naval movement under the power of the same campaign card?

A. No.

Elephant Fright ERRATA: With regard to BCs lost, the wording on the card is correct, not the wording on the strategy card list on p. 15.

Epidemic and Pestilence: Which player chooses which army rolls for attrition?

A. The player playing the card.

Forced March 3: May this card be used to move a General by sea twice, picking up and/or dropping CUs along the way?

A. Yes.

Hannibal Charms Italy: If Hannibal overruns a CU, is the PC removed? Is the PC removed if a Roman army is in the space, but avoids battle?

A. No. No.

Q. Can the PC be removed in the space Hannibal begins his move?

A. Yes, but only by burning one of his movement points (which does not give the Roman an opportunity to intercept into the space Hannibal began the move).

Hanno/Cato Counsel: Can Carthaginian reinforcements be place outside of Africa? Are Roman reinforcements allowed to be placed with an existing army in Africa?

A. Yes, normal reinforcement rules pertain. These cards affect movement.

Hostile Tribes: May this card be played against CUs without a General?

A. Yes.

Native Guides: Is this modifier cumulative with other modifiers for the mountains?

A. Yes, a move across a non-Alps pass would have a "-4" net modifier, for example.

Q. Does the modifier apply to all mountain passes crossed in that move?

A. Yes.

Siege Train: Does the Carthaginian Siege Train take up space in a General's army for movement stacking purposes?

A. No, a General moving with the siege train can move an additional 10 CUs.

Q. Can the Siege Train event be played with the siege train is already on the board to place it elsewhere?

A. Yes, in which case, the existing siege train is removed.

Q. Is the Carthaginian Siege Train removed when the army Avoids Battle?

A. No.

Storm at Sea/Adriatic Pirates ERRATA: These cards seem to imply that CUs may move without Generals-- they are in error. All naval movement requires the presence of a General.

Treachery in the City: See 7.2 above.

Truce: If this card is played as an operations card, does the deck still get reshuffled?

A. Yes, no matter how the Truce card is played, the deck is reshuffled.

Q. During a Truce, can an army intecept into an empty space?

A. No. Inteceptions are not allowed during a Truce.

Q. Can a seige be prosecuted during a truce as long as the PC is not converted?

A. No, siege die rolls are not permitted during a truce, but existing siege points are not lost either.

Q. Does Truce prevent movement through or subjugation of a neutral (green) tribe space?

A. No.

Q. Can campaign or forced march cards break the truce?

A. No, any event which can move an army may not be used to break a truce, nor can the "counter" event cards or the traitor cards.

Q. Can a truce be broken by playing an event that does not occur (e.g. Allied Auxiliaries when there are no Generals in Italy to take the CUs)?

A. No. An event card may only be played as an event if the conditions apply to bring about the event. Otherwise, such a card play is an operation.


Q. Can a subordinate's special abilities be utilized by a commander (i.e. Mago's naval ability for Hannibal's sea movement)?

A. No, a special ability is only used by that General and when commanding.

Q. May Hanno go by sea from one port in Africa to another in Africa?

A. Yes. Fabius, too, may move from port to port in Italy.

Q. If Hanno intercepts, does a PC get converted in that space?

A. No, Hanno's ability applies to his movement through activation by a strategy card.

Q. Does Hanno remove a PC before a battle? After winning? In a space in which his retreat ends?

A. No, Hanno's ability to remove a PC is limited to the space in which he ends his strategic ops movement (after overruns) in which there are no enemy units (i.e. no battle).

Q. Do the special abilities of Marcellus and Scipio Africanus apply for subjugation of tribes?

A. No.

Q. Can Nero use his special ability in combination with sea movement?

A. Yes.

Q. Does Gaius Flaminius special ability apply to attempts to prevent withdrawal?

A. Yes.