*VITTORIA (S&T 151)*

CHARTS AND TABLES

Unit Organization Chart 
ADD 0900 TO EVERY SETUP HEX NUMBER ON BOTH SIDES TO GET THE
CORRECT RESULT. Example: 1724 becomes 2624.

On the French portion of the Unit Organization Chart, the
reference beginning "Add one (1) to the die roll..." relates to
the Group Release Table immediately to the left.

Q: On the Terrain Effects Chart, do Hill hexes block Line of
Sight along a "Ridge Line"?
A: No,; only combat units, Trains, Wood, Town, and Village
terrain block the line of sight.

Q: When filling out the Allied Replacement Schedule (3.2), what
do the blanks under "Scheduled Game Turn of Arrival" mean?
A: Treat the blanks as having the same game turn of entry as the
preceding reinforcement. Thus, Wellington can appear on the
Nanclares Rd. on game turn 4, or the same turn at the Burgos Rd.

MAP

Q: Why is the bridge in hex 3433 is the only one not to have a
road running through it?
A: There was such a Road/Bridge downriver, well off the playing
surface.  The bridge printed on the map allows units to move
across to the west bank of the Zamora. In reality, these units
would have moved downriver and then returned.  By placing a
bridge without a road, terrain costs simulate this round-about
movement without using up precious map space.

RULES

Q: Is Line of Sight always blocked in a hex containing only slope
terrain? (5.2)
A: Only if the LOS actually crosses a slope hexside. If it does
not, then LOS is clear unless there is other blocking terrain
present (Woods, Hill, Village, combat units). 

Q: How do you treat hexes that contain both woods and hill
terrain? (6.2)
A: Woods/Hill hexes count the same as Woods for movement, and as
a Hill for Line of Sight.

Q: Do units always retreat toward the closest friendly leader,
even when this forces their destruction and there is some
alternative path?
A: Yes. Soldiers were very dependent on their commanders, and
would lose cohesion if they lost contact with them, especially if
things went badly in battle. Remember that unit elimination is
not "to the last man," but reflects the battle worthiness of the
formation.

Q: Should infantry with shaded I.D. boxes lose their ability to
move after leaving an enemy Zone of Control if one of the units
exerting the EZOC is a cavalry unit?
A: No. Bear in mind that the terrain was very rugged, which
seriously limited the maneuverability of cavalry. This also keeps
the game simple, as intended.

Q: Should "Reille's Group" at the top right corner of the Unit
Organization Chart be part of Group "C"?
A: Yes.

Q: Does a retreating unit or stack displace other units when
overstacking occurs during retreat?
A: No displacement occurs, but excess units are eliminated at the
end of the current combat phase. Also, retreated units do not
count in subsequent combats. (Rotate them "upside down" 180
degrees to indicate this.)

Q: The loss of artillery when a stack retreats seems a little
harsh if the hex is not immediately occupied by an enemy unit.
Should artillery be spared in this case?
A: The artillerymen are assumed to have routed, regardless.  Once
unmanned, Napoleonic artillery was virtually useless. At
Vittoria, the terrain did not favor the reunion of cannon and
gunners. Once again, for simplicity, the game only permits the
most common outcome.


EXAMPLES OF PLAY
In the multihex combat example (p.30), if A1 and A2 attack D1,
either A3 or A4 must attack D2. It is possible that only one of
the attacking units would want to attack, allowing the other to
"sit out" the attack.

EOF