Q&A for Gettysburg 1863

Questions and Answers

1) If the army commander has not yet entered play, do you still use his initiative rating for determining Order of Battle (4.2) and Activation (4.3)? If not, what ratings are used? 

DP - Yes, you use his rating, whether or not he has entered the map.  On the Union side, you use Reynolds’s command range for purposes of determining whether other units are "in command."  Thus, Hill would be out of command until Lee arrives, unless he successfully rolls for initiative. 

2) In the Sequence of Play (3.0), step 6D (the Movement Segment of the Action Phase) it states “Active units may move (8.0) except artillery which bombarded…” and step 6E (the Assault Segment of the Action Phase) states “A unit may only move and conduct one form of combat (charge or assault) per turn….”, while rule 10.61 states “Cavalry that charged…may not move…” Which is correct; can cavalry charge and then move in the same Action Phase? 

DP - Cavalry cannot charge AND move. Either or. 

3) In the Sequence of Play (3.0), step 6E (the Assault Segment of the Action Phase) states, “Active infantry and cavalry may assault (12.0) enemy units”. Rule 12.1 states, “Only active units may attack, and (unless noted otherwise in the special rules) only infantry units may assault”. Can cavalry units attack in an assault, or is charging the only way cavalry can attack?? 

DP - In Gettysburg, Charging is the only way Cavalry can attack. In other games, Cav will sometimes be able to assault. It is a situational call based on the way units were trained, which was not uniform. The game-specific rules for Gettysburg prohibit Cav from assaulting. 

Also, rule 16.0 states “ Each time an artillery unit fires for bombardment or attacks in an assault, reduce the ammunition total by one.” Can artillery attack in an assault? 

DP - No, arty can only attack thru bombardment. No assault allowed. 

4) Rule 6.8 states “Only four strength points of artillery may attack from a single area.” May more than four strength points of artillery fire from a single area when defending in an assault or cavalry charge? 

DP - Yes. All arty up to the stacking limits may fire in a defense. This allows a player to beef up a defense if needed. 

5) Rule 4.15 states “Units that are out of command…may not elect to stand their ground (12.4) except for elite units…” while rule 12.42 states “ Units that are out of command may not elect to retreat except for elite units.” Which is correct? 

DP - May not stand their ground. Out of command units MUST retreat except elite units. 

6) Rule 8.32 states “ Both roads and trails negate a number of movement penalties (see Terrain Effects Chart).” The TEC simply lists the movement cost of ½ mp. Do roads negate the cost for crossing "boundary" terrain (i.e. do roads negate the +1 mp for crossing stream and slope boundaries)? 

DP - Yes 

7) Rule 8.4 discusses bridges and fords but I don’t see any bridge or ford symbols on the map or TEC. Do bridges (or fords) exist where roads cross streams? 

DP - Yes, All such instances are Bridges. No fords in Gettysburg. 

8) Could you clarify how dice reductions work?  What happens if you don't have a nice even number? For instance, with a 25% reduction, it's clear that 4 dice get you 3. But what if you have 3 dice?  What if you have 1 die?   

DP)  Round down.  Three dice would be rounded down to two dice.  As written, the rules would require that one die be rounded down to zero, but I don't like that.  Perhaps I should write in a one die minimum.  

9) When you bombard an area and score hits, who determines what unit(s) in the area takes the losses? i.e., does the defender just reduce whichever unit(s) he wants to reduce? 

DP) Defender chooses.

10) Does the +1 modifier for defending artillery apply to all defending strength points in the area, or only to artillery strength points?

DP) All defending strength points in the area.

11) Are there any effects for the 'dawn' and 'dusk' turns? (At least that's what we assumed 0500 and 1900 were based on the Turn Record Track shading)  Is artillery range the same at night (2000, 0000 & 0400 turns) as during the day? 

DP) Dusk and Dawn have no effect, they are there for ‘atmosphere’:).  On night turns, artillery can only fire at adjacent areas.  However, I probably should have forbidden all combat or moving adjacent to enemy-occupied areas at night.  

12) Are there any 'elite' units at GETTYSBURG?  

DP)  No.  These are more for the European battles in the series.   

13) Confederate leader Trimble doesn't have any formation ID. Is he a 'staff officer' ?  

KL) Yes.

14) Where you have two units attacking one, one enfilading and the other attacker in the defender's front, is the defender penalized in any way if he chooses to defend against the frontal attacker?  
KL) In this situation, the defending unit is considered to have been attacked in the flank. Its fire against whichever attacker it chooses will be at 50% effectiveness.    

