David Fristrom - 08:58am Apr 21, 2003 PST (#224 of 228) 

I just picked up Granada, and I must say that I'm rather disappointed at
how many questions I had after my first reading of the rules, especially
since they aren't particularly long. Such poorly written rules seem to
be par for the course for wargames, but it looked like Granada was an
attempt to put extra polish on a game; I wish some of that polish had
been applied to the rules. 

Here are some questions: 

1. Does the rule "No leader my be activated more than once in a single
campaign season" apply during Opponent Activates results? For example,
if a Spanish leader is activated normally during the Spanish Action
phase, can the same leader also be activated if the Moorish player rolls
an "Opponent Activates" result during his/her phase? 

2. The rules for battle results says "For example, if a player has five
units and suffers four hits, he may assign all four to one unit, one hit
to each of four different units, or any combination." But it only takes
two hits to kill a full-strength unit -- is it really allowed to assign
four hits to it, thus throwing away two hits? 

3. The first two rules for Naval Movement say "Ships move from sea area
to adjacent sea area, or to adjacent ports. Ships may only enter sea
areas and blockade ports." The first sentence says that ships may enter
ports, the second sentence implies they can't. Which is it? 

4. Assuming that ships may enter ports, can they enter ports owned by
the opponent? Or ports with opposing fleets in them? What happens if
fleets are in a port and the opponent captures the port on land? 

5. If some ships in a sea area are "at sea", and others are blockading a
port, how is this handled for interception and battle? 

6. The "Effects" section of the interception rules say that "At the
conclusion of a naval battle, any moving ships which did not retreat may
continue moving." But the sequence of play shows that naval combat is
resolved at the end of the combat phase, after the action phase has
ended. Are battles caused by interception supposed to be resolved
immediately? 

7. The rules for blockade say that after an attempt to break a blockade,
"If the blockading ships are defeated, attacking ships cease moving and
are placed in the sea area." Is this true even if the ships were
attempting to enter the blockading port -- even if they win the battle,
they still have to stay at sea and can't enter the port? 

8. What are the rules for retreating from a naval battle? Can you
retreat to a port? Can you retreat to adjacent sea area? Can you stay in
the same area? Do enemy ships prevent retreats? 

9. How is the Campaign Season Chart used? I couldn't find any mention of
it in the rules. 

10. The special rule for Boabdil talks about Boabdil "occupying" an area
adjacent to another Moorish leader. To count as "occupying", does
Boabdil have to end the turn in a space, or is passing through enough?
If passing through is enough, does Boabdil have to roll for each such
space he passes through in a turn, or only once a turn? 

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Elizabeth Fulda - 10:16am Apr 21, 2003 PST (#225 of 228) 
Sales/Marketing, Avalanche Press

Dear David, 

I have obtained answers: 

1. The limit applies also during Opponent Activates. 

2. The maximum is indeed 2 hits to one unit (no "throwing away hits"
allowed). 

3. Ships may enter friendly-controlled ports. 

4. Ships in a port captured by the enemy must immediately leave it (and
fight blockaders if necessary). 

5. Each group would be treated separately (ships at sea can't help their
blockading comrades, and vice-versa). 

6. Yes, resolve them immediately. 

7. If attacking blockaders from the sea area, yes, the victors may then
enter the port. 

8. Ships which lost an attempt to break out of a port return to that
port. All others remain in the sea area where the battle took place;
enemy ships do not prevent this. 

9. Roll the die at the end of a campaign season. If the result is the
number shown in the bottom of the box on the Campaign Track or greater,
the campaign seasons for the year end and play moves on to the Winter
Lull. 

10. End the turn in the space to cause an attack to occur. He may never
enter a space with anyone but Ali al-Attar (nor may any other Moorish
leader but Ali al-Attar enter a space containing Boabdil). 

Avalanche Liz 

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
David Fristrom - 10:31am Apr 21, 2003 PST (#226 of 228) 

Thanks for the quick answers! 

On 9, I think you misunderstood my question. I was not refering to the
numbers on the season chart used to determine when the year ends. I was
refering to the "Campaign Season Chart" on the chart sheet, which looks
like it indicates where the season marker begins the year, based on
Moorish castle points controlled. Since it doesn't seem to be mentioned
in the rules, I wanted to make sure it is still supposed to be used, and
confirm that it should be "Moorish Castle points controlled by the
Spanish player side." 

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Elizabeth Fulda - 11:18am Apr 21, 2003 PST (#227 of 228) 
Sales/Marketing, Avalanche Press

That's correct: "The campaign seasons begin "earlier" the better the
Spanish are doing (so the Spanish build up momentum and get to do more
stuff the more stuff they do), and can end "earlier" on a good/bad die
roll. Note that players can also shift the season with a Major Victory
in battle." 

There appears to be a missing rules paragraph or sentence that describes
the Campaign Track, which I'm trying to get hold of and will post when I
have it. Lost during layout but signed off on by at least four different
people. Sigh. 

Avalanche Liz