G Marchand  - Feb 28, 2006 3:36 pm (#5010 Total: 5019)  

Highlander

Hello Richard,

I have just received the nice looking Highlander from BSO/CeC (in
French) and after playing Prestonpan I have some rule questions for you…
So far the game is pretty fun but I need some clarifications before
starting the big Culloden battle… Here they are: 

3.0 Sequence of play … # Rallying: it says units “may TRY to rally”. But
later it says it is automatic if not adjacent to enemy, so I should read
“units not adjacent to enemy automatically rally”, right? 

9.0 Shooting … # Highlander shooting: It says that Higlander can not
fire anymore after a charge but also that highlander tokens start with a
“musquet” token under them to be removed after they FIRE for the first
time. Should it be “… after they CHARGE for the first time”? To say it
another way: can Highlander fire at will until they charge and drop
their musquets or can they only fire only once in any circumstance and
then drop their musquets? 

# First shoot: Regulars have the first shoot token at start. Does this
also apply to Dragoons that are regulars? 

# Resolving fire: On the fire table, a result over 8 is automatic
“disorganized”, 3 to 7 is a Moral check. In the moral check table, units
can be destroyed. Does this destroy result still to be applied while
using this Moral check table as part of a Fire effect ? Or this
"destroyed" result can only be obtained by a choc result? To sum up: can
an undamaged unit be directly destroyed by a single fire attack as a
result of a failed Morale check ? 

# Resolving chocks: Position advantage: it says +2 for attack from
behind and +3 for attack on the side. Is this correct or should it been
reversed? An attack from behind is not supposed to be better? 

13. Cavalry # Mount and dismount: To mount or dismount dragoons, it says
you must be WITHIN 3 hex from enemy to be able to do so. Should it not
be: you must be 3+ hex AWAY from the enemy instead? 

15. Victory # Victory is to be checked after any FREE activation. The
only 3 situations where a free activation is given are: when there is a
failed continuation roll, a failed interruption roll or when the
continuation is voluntary given, right? 

Thanks for putting up together this nice game…

G.Marchand


G Marchand - Mar 3, 2006 1:09 pm (#5015 Total: 5019)  
Highlander

I went through the set up of Culloden and it answered one of my question
: 

Q: # First shoot: Regulars have the first shoot token at start. Does
this also apply to Dragoons that are regulars? A: No, only for infantry,
not enough token otherwise. 

But it raised 2 new questions hehe: 

Q1 There are 5 Royalists 3 pounds guns listed on the setup and there are
only 4 tokens of them. Is it missing one token, did I alreday lost one
or is there an error on the setup listing ? 

Q2 Extract of the setup: 2010 21 Reg Campbell 2016 1st Reg St Clair's
(The Royals) 

As token there are only: - no Campbell token - Ryl Scots Fus - St Clair 

So I was wondering where was the error, on the listing or in the tokens
? If it is on the listing, should setup be : 2010 Reg St Clair's 2016
1st Ryl Scots Fus Or the other way around?

Thanks,

Desaix

Richard H. Berg - Mar 3, 2006 2:03 pm (#5016 Total: 5019)  
A "veritable foodie with proven tasting credentials" who says he'll try 
to be nicer, if you try to be smarter. 	 

The Royal Scots Fusiliers are Campbell's regiment. StClair's is the
Royal Scots. Confusing, eh what . . . 

We do appear to be missing a section of 3-pounders, though, do we not.
Interesting; no one ever noticed that before. Or if they noticed, they
never mentioned it. Use one of the 3-pounders from Prestonpans, but the
numbers from the Culloden guns. 

"3.0 Sequence of play … # Rallying: it says units “may TRY to rally”.
But later it says it is automatic if not adjacent to enemy, so I should
read “units not adjacent to enemy automatically rally”, right?" 

Sure. 

# Resolving fire: On the fire table, a result over 8 is automatic
“disorganized”, 3 to 7 is a Moral check. In the moral check table, units
can be destroyed." 

They can? Where does it say that? It says Routed . . . 

"Does this destroy result still to be applied while using this Moral
check table as part of a Fire effect ? Or this "destroyed" result can
only be obtained by a choc result? To sum up: can an undamaged unit be
directly destroyed by a single fire attack as a result of a failed
Morale check ?" 

If you mean Routed, yes (depending ion training level). 

"# Resolving chocks: Position advantage: it says +2 for attack from
behind and +3 for attack on the side. Is this correct or should it been
reversed? An attack from behind is not supposed to be better?" 

It is correct. In linear warfare being flanked is worse than being
rear-ended. 

"13. Cavalry # Mount and dismount: To mount or dismount dragoons, it
says you must be WITHIN 3 hex from enemy to be able to do so. Should it
not be: you must be 3+ hex AWAY from the enemy instead?" 

Correct. Usual dumb typo.

"15. Victory # Victory is to be checked after any FREE activation. The
only 3 situations where a free activation is given are: when there is a
failed continuation roll, a failed interruption roll or when the
continuation is voluntary given, right?" 

Right.

RHB