Collected errata and Q&A for IBEROS – Alea Ludopress  - 9/01/02

Javier Romero - 03:27am Jun 21, 2002 PST (#35 of 57) 

Charts: The Regular combat chart has columns labeled 1/1, 2/1, 2/1. I assume this should be 1/2, 1/1, 2/1.

 
Yes.

The modifiers to the chart say that the Roman gets +1 if so many of the attacking units are 9-1's. The Spanish section omits the qualifier 'attacking'. Is this a translation error? 


The +1 modifier for more than 50% Roman 9-1 units applies only in attack.

There is no qualifier for the modifier for having 5-1's.

 
The modifier applies in attack and defense. That is, a Roman force with more than 50% 5-1 units attacks with -1 drm. If attacked, the enemy gets a +1 drm.

While on the topic, I assume the above modifiers are cumulative with the +2 modifier for attacking Romans? 


Yes.

On the siege Table, what does the result 'SE' mean?
 
"Sin Efecto" Spanish for No Effect. Nothing happens, and the attacker must spend again Operation Points to attack the city.

2.3 Counters. This section gives a definition of 'units' that differs from that on the back of the box. Which is correct? 


The correct definition is the one in the rulebook.

Do leaders really count against supply limits? 


No, leaders do not count against supply limits.

3.3 Leaderless Civilized Forces: The limit is 2 EC + 2 units of any type. Does this make a 4 EC force legal (2 EC + 2 EC)? Or should it read 2 EC + 2 units of any type (other than EC)? 


It should read 2 EC + 2 units of any type (other than EC).

7.1 Operations Points. Unclear here. Do you draw a marker for each force before any are activated, or one at a time as each is activated? 

One at a time as each is activated. After finishing operations with a force, the OP marker is returned to the cup before drawing for another force.

12. Combat. Just to clarify, if an enemy has multiple forces in an area, they are all attacked individually? 


Yes.

13. Sieges. It is unclear when a player must decide if units are inside or outside a city. Is this done during the Administrative Phase? During the Operations Phase, when a force is activated? When an enemy force first enters the area? When a siege is declared? When can units change their status, inside or outside? Only by normal movement? 

Players must decide if units are inside or outside a city during the Administrative Phase. See the Expanded Sequence of Play.

13.1.2. Siege Works. I assume that 'at the beginning of the following Operations Phase' should read 'at the beginning of the following friendly Operations phase'. 

Yes.

15.1 Foundation of Colonies. Colonies are considered founded 'if at the end of the Ops phase the building force has not been defeated'. I assume that means at the end of the following opponent's Op Phase, as there is no way to be defeated in a friendly-controlled territory during your own Ops phase. 


Yes.

Optional Rule 8: Troop Recovery. It is unclear if you roll only for one unit or for every unit lost. If the latter, then Sertorius, with a +3 modifier, will recover every unit lost in a battle. 

This rule was not well translated. Actually is a die roll per leader per turn. That is, if you have two leaders, you can try to recover up to two units per turn. Example:  if you have leaders Sertorius and Hirtuleivs, during the administrative phase you can try to recover two destroyed units that were destroyed while stacking with that leader. Select one leader and the unit to be recovered: roll one die and add the drm of the Tactical rating of that leader. If the result is 4 or higher, the unit returns to play.

Scenario IX (The Cantabrian Wars). 

Set up: Generally, when the Roman player gets a colony in a region that formerly had a native city, is the colony considered to 'replace' the native city as per 15.2? Or is it the Roman's choice? 

Unless otherwise noted, the native city is not substituted by the Roman colony.

Set up: The shading on the map omits the territory of the Berones. Is that the only error? 


Yes, the Roman player can deploy units at the Vasconi and Berones territories. 

There is no mention of PTs for the Romans in this scenario. I assume that is because the Roman army is assumed to have the entire Roman Empire behind it. Is this correct? If so, is there a limit on how many Supply Trains the Roman may construct? Are they built freely? 

Yes, (Rules addition). Scenario Specific rule 3.5: the Roman player can recruit freely (no cost in PTs) up to three Supply Trains per turn. And up to one Siege Train
per turn.

The naval rules mention that they were included to represent the importance of naval power in certain campaigns, such as the Cantabrian wars (where it was certainly very important). I am surprised, therefore, to find no provision for the use of naval transport in this scenario. 
Yes, you're right, the Roman navy played a key role during the Cantabrian wars operating out of Suances, in the Galician coast. There were provision of the use
of naval supply and transport in that scenario, but these rules were "lost" during the final editing of the rulebook. Scenario Specific rule 3.6: the Roman player can move
by sea up to 4 units per turn.

3.2 Roman Legions. Not sure how this works. What does 'these forces substitute a force of 2 EC on the map' mean? That a Legion marker represents 2 EC (and only 2 EC)? Or are they just extra holding boxes? 

The Roman Legion markers were included just to add "historical flavor". A Legion marker can only represent 2 ECs. 

Javier Romero - 02:24pm Jun 25, 2002 PST (#39 of 57) 

Errata of Iberos
25 june 2002.
Tables. 
The Regular Combat table (on map) reads 1/1, 2/1, 2/1. It should be 1/2, 1/1, 2/1. 

Optional Standard Rules. 
Standard rule 8: Troop recovery. (Clarification) During the Administrative phase, one leader can try to recover one of the units that stacked with him and were lost during the previous Operations Phase. Procedure: roll one die and add the tactical rating of the leader (it can be a positive or negative drm). If the modified die roll is 4 or higher, the unit is returned to play (it must be stacked with the leader that recovered it).

Scenario IX, rule 2. A, initial set up. 
Deploy a Roman colony (Bracara Augusta) at Gallaeci I, not at Gallaeci III. 
The Romans can deploy troops at the territories of Vasconi and Berones.

Rules additions.
Scenario IX 
Scenario specific rule 3.5: the Roman player can recruit for free (no cost in PTs) up to three Supply Trains per turn.
It can recruit also up to one Siege Train per turn. No more than 2 Siege Trains can be on the map at any time.

Scenario specific rule 3.6: the Roman player can move by sea up to 4 units per turn. The Roman colony
at Gallaecia III (Bracara Augusta) can be used as a port colony during the scenario. 

Javier Romero - 12:02pm Jun 26, 2002 PST (#48 of 57) 

Say the Romans have a lone supply train in Asturica Augusta. The Roman army campaigns, and ends its move in Cantabria I. Can the supply train move up and merge with the Roman army so as to supply it? 

No. Supply/Siege trains can not move alone. They must always stack with at least one unit (EC or LT).

Is there a limit on hidden forces? I as the native player was playing with all my units inverted. Is this legal? 


To hid your forces there are the force markers. If the force markers in the countersheet are too few you can use force markers of your own. Or you can play with all of your units inverted, or use Punic force markers.

Take retreat before battle. They succeed on a 1-4 in their own territory. That's reduced to a 1-2 if the Romans use a +2 leader in their killer stack. Even 1-4 isn't good odds if the Romans get 6-7 OPs points (the average) and makes multiple attacks. 

During playtesting we used an additional modifier to prevent "killer stacks". That is, a tribal force attacked by a force of 5 or more units (leaders not included) gets a -1 drm in retreat before combat die rolls. A good solution to fix the problem of "killer stacks" would be this modifier. It was dropped simply because we didn't want to overcharge the system with too many modifiers.

Another tactic for the Cantabrians is to deploy two decent units in Mons Vindius (defensive factor of 8). The Roman will have to spend OPs to take it, and with a little luck he will be forced to spend the winter (atrittion phase) in Cantabria. (And if you see the Atrittion Table, the more units you have in an area, the higher the possibilities of atrittion casualties). 

The Order of Play for the game may need to be changed a little. As it is, each player can move all of his units during a one year turn while his opponent can only watch and intercept

Interactive sequence of play. We experimented with this also. It worked fine for the Punic-Roman and Roman civil war scenarios, but not to simulate the typical "pacification" campaign of the Romans in Iberia: the new Praetor takes over, marches to the hostile territory, fight sieges/fight battles/pillage, then return to the friendly coastal areas to spend winter quarters. The only "interaction" allowed was intercept because historically this was pretty much what the Tribals did. Also, with interactive sequences of play at the first opportunity the Tribal player usually launched a raid to pillage Roman/Punic held areas while the Roman army toured the enemy territory. Also, the success of interception depends very much on leader quality. In the Cantabrian scenario the Romans have good leaders, (Augustus et al.) unlike most of the scenarios. If the Roman/Punic has decent leaders, their possibilities of getting ambushed are lower. If the tribal player has a very good leader (see the Viriatus scenario) he can almost always intercept and very often ambush the Romans.

The rule we experienced with was the following: there is a common operations phase for both players. Players can use it if they wish specially in scenarios II, IV, VII, VIII and IX.

Alternate Activation of Forces: to gain the initiative, each player rolls a d6. The high roll wins. Reroll any draws. The high roll "has the initiative" and can activate any force. He picks an Operations Points chit, and performs operations until running out of OPs or he passes. When the player has done all its operations with this force, then both players roll again. Both players alternate activations until they ran out of forces to activate or both pass. (Players go to the next phase, atrittion). This rule can not be combined with special rule 6, Force coordination.

As for scenario IX, perhaps rule 17.2 pillage should not apply there. No Pillage operations should be allowed to the Roman player. The Cantabrians were so poor and primitive that there wasn't much to pillage in Cantabria and Asturia. In fact, their main activity was raiding each other and the more civilized Vaccei, that inhabited the plains of the Durius (Duero) river. 

Steve Carey - 11:48pm Jun 27, 2002 PST (#51 of 57) Spa Fon! 

Received my copy of Iberos today - quite an intriguing package! 

Javier, here are some additional errata/clarification items for you to look at: 

1) Map, Combat Results, the 'DE' explanation should read that 'The attacker loses one unit for every 6 defending (not attacking) units eliminated.' 

2) Map, Regular CRT drms, states there is a +1 if more than half the attacking force are 9-1 Romans EC. But I don't see any 9-1 Romans (the Punics have 9-1's) in the countermix. Is this a typo (should be Punic, not Roman), or does this refer to the Roman 10-1's? 

3) The Expanded Sequence of Play chart lists an Enemy Leader Assassination as (4) operation points; the box chart and rules say (3) ops. 

4) Likewise, the SOP chart lists a City Assault as (2) ops, while the box chart says it's only (1) ops. 

5) The box chart does not list the Colony Foundation (1) option. The SOP chart does not list the Interception (0) option. 

6) Does the +1drm to intercepting units which entered across mountains apply to borders that are only partially mountain (e.g., Vettoni to Vaccei I)? 

7) SE on the Siege Table means No Effect. 

8) The Treasury chart on the box states it cost 3 PT's to build a Siege or Supply Train, but the rules (13.1.1 and 17.3) state it costs only 2 PT's. 

9) Just above the credits on the inside back rules cover it states there are 340 counters in the game; there are only 240 pieces. 

10) Scenario IX has additional errata rules 3.5 and 3.6 listed; is there a 3.4 also missing (the printed rules end at 3.3)? 

11) In the errata (post #39 here), you still list the Bracara Augusta Colony in 3.6 as being in Gallaecia III; per errata setup, it is in Gallaecia I. 

This game is loaded with lots of good stuff. Javier, if the deisgn proves popular and successful, any plans for future games in the series? 


Javier Romero - 11:42am Jun 28, 2002 PST (#52 of 57) 

2) Map, Regular CRT drms, states there is a +1 if more than half the attacking force are 9-1 Romans EC. But I don't see any 9-1 Romans (the Punics have 9-1's) in the countermix. Is this a typo (should be Punic, not Roman), or does this refer to the Roman 10-1's? 


Yes, this does refer to veteran (10-1) Roman units. Roman veterans are 8-1. Veteran Punic are 9-1, regular punic are 7-1.

3), 4), 5), and 8): 

The correct costs in Treasury Points for each operation are those listed in the Expanded Sequence of Play. 

6) Does the +1drm to intercepting units which entered across mountains apply to borders that are only partially mountain (e.g., Vettoni to Vaccei I)? 

There are no "partially mountain borders" in the map. There are border areas were the mountains do not cover completely the border just for aestetycal reasons. The modifier applies even if the mountain do not cover all the border. BTW, any comments about the graphics used for the mountains? 

10) Scenario IX has additional errata rules 3.5 and 3.6 listed; is there a 3.4 also missing (the printed rules end at 3.3)? 

Yes, there is an optional rule 3.4: naval movement. The Roman player may move by sea up to 4 units. For naval movement purposes, the colony of Bracara Augusta (it must be set up at Gallaecia I, not III) can be treated as a Port colony. See post #38.

Steve Carey - 02:58pm Jun 28, 2002 PST (#53 of 57) 

Spa Fon! 

Javier, thank you for the prompt response. Some more questions/clarifications: 

12) 5.1, can a player opt to voluntarily not pay troops to save treasury points and then just roll for mutiny? (it doesn't make sense to pay some troops with the best leaders because they will never mutiny due to those leader's drms). 

13) 11.3, does the +1 ops penalty also apply to leaving an area with just an enemy controlled city/colony (no enemy troops present)? (I ask becaue the rules state a city/colony is a "static" enemy unit) 

14) On a Surrender result during a city assault, the rules state that the defender pays a tribute of 1 PT, but the sidebar notes state the attacker simply gains 1 PT; so, does this mean that 1 is subtraced from the defender's treasury in a Surrender result? 

15) For attrition 13.2, shouldn't the modifiers listed on the back of the rule book be -1 (not +1) for 5 or more units inside a besieged city, and -2 (not +2) for more than 10 units inside a besieged city? (i.e., the more troops trapped inside, the worse that they'll suffer attrition). 

16) To clarify 14.1 Naval Operations, it costs 2 ops to move from a port to any ground (non-port) area, and just 1 ops when moving from port-to-friendly port (not "area"), correct? 

17) 15.1, must a force that is creating a Colony remain in that area, or can it simply pay the 1 ops and leave the 'Building' marker behind (alone) while continuing its move? 

18) 11.3, can a force with a Supply or Siege Train use Forced March? 

19) 16.3 Procedures, since Mercenaries are considered "part of the recruiting force", does this means that they are not restricted to their own region (like other recruited LT's), and can roam the map freely (or do they have to remain stacked with civilized troops or leaders)? 

20) 16.3, Procedures, I don't understand how the last sentence "The recruiting force must not include one leader" applies to the rule. 

Despite all the above, I am enjoying the game - realizing that this is a foreign design, I'm more tolerant of typos and errors (translation?) than I normally would be. 

Oh, I think all the map graphics are just fine, including the mountains. 


Javier Romero - 10:38am Jun 30, 2002 PST (#54 of 57) 

12) 5.1, can a player opt to voluntarily not pay troops to save treasury points and then just roll for mutiny? (it doesn't make sense to pay some troops with the best leaders because they will never mutiny due to those leader's drms). 

No, you must always pay troop maintenance.

13) 11.3, does the +1 ops penalty also apply to leaving an area with just an enemy controlled city/colony (no enemy troops present)? (I ask becaue the rules state a city/colony is a "static" enemy unit) 

No.

14) On a Surrender result during a city assault, the rules state that the defender pays a tribute of 1 PT, but the sidebar notes state the attacker simply gains 1 PT; so, does this mean that 1 is subtraced from the defender's treasury in a Surrender result? 

No, the attacker gains 1 PT but the defender doesn't loses any PTs.

15) For attrition 13.2, shouldn't the modifiers listed on the back of the rule book be -1 (not +1) for 5 or more units inside a besieged city, and -2 (not +2) for more than 10 units inside a besieged city? (i.e., the more troops trapped inside, the worse that they'll suffer attrition). 


Yes.

16) To clarify 14.1 Naval Operations, it costs 2 ops to move from a port to any ground (non-port) area, and just 1 ops when moving from port-to-friendly port (not "area"), correct? 


Correct.

17) 15.1, must a force that is creating a Colony remain in that area, or can it simply pay the 1 ops and leave the 'Building' marker behind (alone) while continuing its move? 
At least an EC unit must remain behind along with the "building" marker.

18) 11.3, can a force with a Supply or Siege Train use Forced March? 

No.

19) 16.3 Procedures, since Mercenaries are considered "part of the recruiting force", does this means that they are not restricted to their own region (like other recruited LT's), and can roam the map freely (or do they have to remain stacked with civilized troops or leaders)? 

They must remain stacked with civiliced troops or leaders.
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