Invasion America Derived Errata and Clarifications by Don Johnson on 04/25/2011

[3.3] Counters - One of the SAU infantry units is misprinted on the back.  Ways to address this 

are as follows:

  
1) Just ignore it and try to hide the back when stacking.


2) Get 2 games and replace the bad counter.


3) Obtain a new set of counters, for example, from Kerry Anderson.

[4.1] Of the 5 national forces, only the USA and Canada are friendly.  This means that that other nation's units and ZOCs must be respected, only one nation's units can occupy a specific port and one nation can fight another nation's units if they deem it advantageous.

[6.0] & [12.0] Stacking: Stacking of naval units is 3 units per hex after initial setup and at the end of the naval movement phase.  Stacking of land and air units is 3 land and/or air units per hex or 3 land and/or air units carried by an am/tr; rr do not count for stacking.  Land stacking is ONLY enforced after initial setup and at the end of the land movement phase, the end of the combat phase, and the end of the mech movement phase.  This means replacement units can overstack.

Suggested stacking order: 

for Aggressor: cv, lrb, cas, a, mi, i, si, h, s, am (a, mi, i, h, s), tr (lrb, cas, a, mi, i, si, h); 

for US: lrb, cas, a, mi, i, m with rr on top of any unit moving by rail. 

This will show (in order) air superiority hexes, hexes that can be hit by air, mech units, units with ZOC, units with no ZOC, units that cannot move, am with loaded units and tr with loaded units. 

[7.0] am can carry 3 units of types a, mi, i, h, s.  am carrying s cannot make an amphibious assault.  s can load or unload during a naval movement phase on any coastal hex, not just beach hexes.  tr can carry 3 units of types lrb, cas, a, mi, i, si, h.

[8.0] Replacements: (A) Replacement units do not need to meet stacking requirements, as  

stacking in specifically enforced at other times in the turn.  

(B) USA replacements are placed at a friendly supply center in the USA.  Canadian replacements are placed at a friendly supply center in Canada.  If no such national supply center exists, then those country's replacements are lost until one is recaptured.  

(C) For Aggressor replacements, a port in a friendly country still must be occupied by a friendly unit in order to place replacements there but any unit (land, air or naval) may do the occupation.  If SAU or ESV have no supply unit or occupied port, then they cannot place replacement units; PAL can always place replacements in the PAL Holding Box.

[9.6] Ports: For Aggressor supply, a port in a friendly country still must be occupied by a friendly unit in order function for supply; any unit (land, air or naval) may do the occupation.

[11.0] Land Unit Zone of Control: Only a, mi, i, and si units have a ZOC.  Such a unit does not have a ZOC when being transported by am, tr, or rr, nor across a major river, blocked hexside or sea hexside, nor on a player turn when doing an amphibious invasion.

[13.8] TEC: (A) A simpler term for an amphibious hex is a beach hex.  

(B) The MP cost to enter a hex with a port by land movement is determined by the other terrain in the hex.  To load or unload from an am or tr on a port costs 2 MPs.

[13.9] CRT: (A) On a DX result the attacker must first lose si units if possible and the attacker doing an amph invasion must first lose invading i, then invading a, mi or h, then invading am, then units on other hexes; if both cases apply, si units are lost first.  

(B) A defending supply unit (that is, one not on an am) is destroyed on a retreat result of D1, D2, or D3, as it cannot move except by using an am.  

(C) On any retreat result (A1, A2, A3, D1, D2, or D3) am, tr, cv, or h units may retreat across a sea and/or blocked hexside as long as the stack ends up in a hex it can be on.  

(D) In any retreat result, the affected stack must retreat as a stack per the rules; when a stack contains both land or air units and naval units, this may mean that all land units not on a ship are lost if the stack retreats to an all sea hex or all naval units are lost if the stack retreats to a non-coastal land hex. 

[15.0] Amphibious Assault:  There are 2 types of amphibious assault (AA), uncontested and contested.  

In an uncontested AA, no enemy units occupy the beach hex and the invading units pay the MP cost associated with the beach hex to land on that hex during the land movement phase (and if they do not have enough MPs they cannot land on that beach hex); units that land may continue moving normally if they have MPs remaining and are not in an enemy ZOC.  

In a contested AA, enemy units do occupy the beach hex and they are always either doubled or tripled in strength, depending only on the type of beach hex; that is, aggressor air units do not negate the beach defense effects.  A contested AA is a special case in that enemy land units and aggressor an am unit (and its cargo) occupy the same hex until the combat is resolved.  Land units making a contested AA remain on the am for game purposes until the combat is resolved.  On an attacker retreat result all the aggressor land units remain on the am and the am retreats to a coastal hex not occupied by an enemy unit or to a sea hex.  (See rules 6.25 and 15.16.)

[16.2] Hovercraft: ESC h may exit Cuba by using their special movement ability but PAL h must be carried by am or tr to exit the PAL Holding Box.

[19.16] Per Chris Fawcett's VP analysis, ... at least 282 VPs ....

[19.26] Per Chris Fawcett's VP analysis, ... at least 339 VPs ....

[19.31] USA gets 4 rr and Canada gets 2 rr (as the USA does not have 6 rr in counter mix, so make this the same as the other 2 invasion scenarios).

[19.36] Per Chris Fawcett's VP analysis, ... at least 339 VPs ....

[19.46] Per Chris Fawcett's VP analysis, ... at least 207 VPs ....

[19.56] Per Chris Fawcett's VP analysis, ... at least 76 VPs ....

[19.66] Per Chris Fawcett's VP analysis, ... at least 38 VPs ....
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